My Name is Amy and I am a Blogger

By way of introduction, it seemed appropriate to write a short Bio using words. No way I’m doing ‘my life in pictures.’  I no longer identify with pictures of myself because the stranger staring back at me surely cannot be ME. I always want to Photo shop (or edit) her, so that that we look alike.

As I reflected back on my life, I decided to skip the Bio entirely. Why plod through the past when I am moving forward? It made more sense to go ahead and jump into blogging…

Then I realized that blogs are PUBLIC. (Gasp…) There is a possibility that many, many people could read my blog. In fact, that would be the whole point of writing a blog! To reach people, to connect with people and to build a readership.

After overcoming the extreme photo trauma, I STILL had a blog to get started on.  A blog that could reach an unlimited amount of readers. More sleep lost as I spent time (8 weeks to be exact) playing around with fonts, templates, hosting sites, reading books and conducting research in an effort to learn more about blogging. I was so immersed in the possibilities, that I confused myself into inaction.

The irony is not lost on me. I spent two months trying to come up with the Perfect presentation for the Perfect blog. I finally realized that if I didn’t lose the Perfectionism, the blog was never going to get written. It is often said that Perfect is the enemy of good.

For sure, I am heading into new and unfamiliar territory—publicly—with no idea where it will lead. And I will be learning as I go along. I’m not a Perfect writer, but I do enjoy it. Please join me on my less than Perfect journey as I blog about everyday life…

About Amy Lauria

Artist. Writer. Single Parent of two college students. Beach Walker. Dog owner who walks outdoors to maintain sanity. Into shiny objects, vacations, glitter, cupcakes, sports, and my beloved sticks, stones and beach glass.
This entry was posted in On the Job (Working Mother). Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Name is Amy and I am a Blogger

  1. dhickok says:

    Amy,I look forward to reading your "almost" perfect blogging renditions. You are off to a good start.dj hickok

  2. J says:

    I love irony- and your new blog! I am anticipating many enjoyable reads. You know I find you to be nearly Perfect, right?

  3. Anonymous says:

    Spledid! Very interested in keeping up with you Blog Amy! -Erica

Leave a Reply

