More New Beginnings

The wonderful thing about Endings is that they lead to New Beginnings. At least, that is what I tell myself when I am faced with the end of something ‘known’ and looking out into the vast ‘unknown.’

June brought a couple of BIG Endings my way and lent (yet again) more uncertainty to my life.

In early June, my employment with Tec Incorporated came to a grinding halt when I was laid off. As I took my seat in the conference room, I felt at peace while receiving my ‘marching’ papers. I couldn’t explain the feeling then and I still can’t, but I do know that the layoff seemed somehow ‘right’ to me and it was the ‘right’ business decision for the company.

Not too many days later, June 14th brought the final hearing for my divorce. It didn’t take but 30 minutes for the magistrate to look over the paperwork, the attorneys’ to conference and for my (almost) ex-husband and I to agree that our 18-year marriage was over. I sailed out of the courtroom and jumped into my borrowed Chevy Tahoe, which was already loaded with luggage, roller blades and the like. Ready for the days ‘next’ adventure.

I swung by my house to pick up my two children, our golden retriever, two more children and we hit the open road. This was my intended vacation (pre-layoff) and I chose to go forward with the plan to visit my Aunt in Virginia. The children and I love to stay at her house for a week in the summer. And it wasn’t like I had anything else to do. Or anyplace I needed to be. How often does that happen? I decided that we all might as well enjoy it.

It seems fitting that after a short hiatus with my new blog, I begin posting again on Independence Day. I certainly am ‘independent’ right now. I am not tied to a job, a marriage, or even a mortgage. I am a single mom, living in a rental home, with little money and no idea what lies ahead. And for some reason I am quite happy. In fact, I jump out of bed each morning eager to see what the new day has in store for me.

Honestly, I have no idea what comes next after my latest series of Endings. But I am certainly excited to find out. Here’s to New Beginnings!

About Amy Lauria

Artist. Writer. Single Parent of two college students. Beach Walker. Dog owner who walks outdoors to maintain sanity. Into shiny objects, vacations, glitter, cupcakes, sports, and my beloved sticks, stones and beach glass.
This entry was posted in Divorce, The best laid plans.... Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More New Beginnings

  1. Pingback: Mortgage 101

Leave a Reply

