July 14, 2011

my very first Crumb…

I’m not quite getting why those in my (rather) small town seem to have peanuts at their graduation parties. It’s not like we’re at the circus, right?

Trying to understand, I asked my Godchild and the conversation went like this:

Me: Why do people out here seem to have peanuts at graduation parties?

Smart & Gorgeous Godchild: I don’t know…just to snack on while socializing?

Me (Showing my Age): It’s like the Ground Round. Remember that restaurant where they used to serve peanuts and you could just toss the shells onto the floor?

Smart & Gorgeous Godchild: Oh…my Dad does that at home.

Me: I’ve seen him toss the shells to the dogs….

Smart & Gorgeous Godchild: He does that too. I’m actually kidding about him tossing peanut shells to the ground, but they will end up in places only God knows how they got there.

And still, I just don’t get it. Dessert, cheese and/or fruit platters? Yes. Peanuts? No.

About Amy Lauria

Artist. Writer. Single Parent of two college students. Beach Walker. Dog owner who walks outdoors to maintain sanity. Into shiny objects, vacations, glitter, cupcakes, sports, and my beloved sticks, stones and beach glass.
This entry was posted in The best laid plans.... Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to July 14, 2011

  1. Anonymous says:

    Peanuts are a good source of protein. They taste good and the act of opening them slows down your consumption so you don’t eat as much. You don’t have to refrigerate the ones that don’t get eaten. It also give you something to do while you are pretending to listen to people who are talking to you.

    • Amy Lauria says:

      I can see that. And still…I don’t quite get it. I suppose I could get on board with this for my daughter’s graduation party (if she has one), as long as I could get pretty glass bowls to house the peanuts.

  2. sue says:

    Too Funny I went on my 1st date to the Ground Round! LOL

Leave a Reply

