The Stranger…on my Front Steps??

Can nothing in my life go smoothly? I mean…is it too much expect some sleep at night? I am not a bat. Human beings are not supposed to be nocturnal…

And yet, I only got about 2 hours of sleep last night. Not nearly enough.

The worst part? I was looking forward to going to bed. I was completely exhausted by 6pm. But I had more ‘day’ to get through, before being rewarded with bedtime.

After hustling through the day, I watched my son’s first 8th grade football game. And it was an exciting win, because the team played well–but also because my son had the game of his life, at least thus far. After the game, I rushed home to meet a client who wanted to look at furniture that I had for sale. Thank goodness she bought the bedroom set, because I missed a mandatory parent meeting at the school—I had no idea there even WAS a meeting, actually. I ran back to the school, but it was already over. Then back home to a phone call requesting that I make changes to a recently completed freelance project…

By 11pm, I FELL into bed.

I tossed. I turned. I put the TV on. I turned the TV off. I went down to the basement and moved laundry. Matter of fact, ALL the laundry was finished by morning. And the dishwasher was run. Because I wasn’t sleeping!!

I was WIDE awake.

Finally, I dozed off at about 3am.

At 3:34am, my dogs’ commotion in another room woke me up. They were barking like I’ve never heard them bark. Just ballistic. I stumbled out of bed, half asleep, to investigate why they were acting like the front door was attacking them. I opened the front door a few inches to peek outside…

And there was a Strange Man standing there. 

Stunned, I shut and locked the door at lighting speed. All I heard was…

“Out of Gas…need a phone….”

Still shaking off the fog, I darted into my bedroom and called the 911. If The Stranger truly was out of gas, I wanted to help him. And if he was a crazed lunatic, I wanted him in the back of a squad car–not loitering on my front steps.

The commotion woke my daughter and she hunkered down on my bed as I gave a description to the 911 operator.

Delightful Daughter: The lighting isn’t helping things…

As we waited for the  police to arrive, lighting lit up the sky—illuminating The Stranger in my yard. Plus, the lightning had Rocky Dog–the Golden Retriever—quaking in his boots.

Gracie? She had no problem with the lightning and approaching thunderstorm. She did have a problem with The Stranger on the Stoop. Have I mentioned that Gracie Mutt has a touch of Pit Bull in her? She was in ‘guard dog’ mode. And she was NOT pleased.

Delightful Daughter: Be Strong Mom.

She was NOT referring to The Stranger…she meant that I should NOT  help Rocky Dog onto the bed (He cannot jump up, due to a gimpy leg)

And yet, I hoisted him up without even a thought…

Delightful Daughter: You’re weak!!

Me: Deep sigh…

Delightful Daughter: (laughing at me) WEAK!

Me: Another Deep sigh…

Why would I put the dog on the bed to army crawl around, pant in my face and ‘hide’ his 85 lb. body under my pillow? Why position him in to aggravate me? Good question…without a good answer.

Delightful Daughter: Gracie’s not afraid of the storm…

Me: No. But she CANNOT take Rocky Dog’s meltdown. And The Stranger outside is irritating her.

Delightful Daughter: Mom. Go get the Benadryl. Take Rocky Dog out to the family room couch. Let the Benadryl kick in…then come back to bed in your room.

Me: I’m NOT going out there…THE GUY!

Delightful Daughter: Crawl…

Me: That idea has merit.

Delightful Daughter: What if he has a gun??

Thankfully, the police arrived. There was talk. And The Stranger shuffled off with Mr. Officer. The ‘nice’ 911 Lady told me the police would come back if there was a problem. They never came back. Does anybody think it was a bad sign that The Stranger got into the back of the squad car?

As my daughter and I were pondering this, my son shuffled onto the scene, chugging a Powerade like it’s normal for us to be having ‘family time’ and chatting in my bedroom at 4am.

Me & My Son...

Me: Why are you up?

Son: All the loudness…

Me: Oh.

We quickly filled him in. He and I wandered to the front of the house, to watch the squad car leave our driveway–The Stranger tucked securely in the backseat.

Son: I think I’ll go watch some TV…

The children, dogs and I have bonded. Again. We had some laughs and conversation in the middle of the night. Again.

And I am still not asleep at 4:30 am.

I will surely have to restrain myself from throwing my alarm clock it at a wall in a couple of hours.

I can’t help but notice that we all took things in stride–except Rocky Dog, who was a shaking, panting, wreck because of the lightning. Nobody was cranky or angry. (Even the next day, when we were sleep deprived.) We all rolled with our odd predicament. This tends to be our life.

These things HAPPEN to us. We don’t know WHY…

Of course, 6:15 arrived far too soon. To make up for the sleep deprivation, we left  early and got donuts on the way to school.

The rainbow for me? After I dropped the children off to school, I loaded my car and pointed my Trusty Honda toward Virginia. Me and my ‘friends’ (Rocky Dog and Grace) are at Aunt Kate’s as I type this.

Aunt Kate made a fabulous dinner.

And…there’s cake!!

I am off to bed now. After 2 hours of sleep and a ride from Ohio to Virginia, I am tired. And it is after midnight.

The good news? There’s CAKE for breakfast!!

About Amy Lauria

Artist. Writer. Single Parent of two college students. Beach Walker. Dog owner who walks outdoors to maintain sanity. Into shiny objects, vacations, glitter, cupcakes, sports, and my beloved sticks, stones and beach glass.
This entry was posted in Daily Life of a Single Parent, Dogs, My FAVORITE Posts, The best laid plans... and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Stranger…on my Front Steps??

  1. Crissy says:

    Love your stories and miss you and Aunt Kate… please tell her Keith and I said “HI”!

    Luv,
    Crissy

  2. D. J. Hickok says:

    Great commentary on a normal day in your everyday life. Ha,ha. Question: Did you call the police to find out if the guy was really out of gas or was juiced up and couldn’t find his house? Sounds like a scene from a 50’s show called “The Shadow”. Please let me know.

    Mr Inquisitive

  3. Stella says:

    The “Guy” was a blind date I was planning on fixing you up with. Whatdya think?? Yes, No, Maybe??? We will discuss it over lunch someday. BTW, did you notice if he had a bike tied down to his car? 😀

    • Amy Lauria says:

      I did NOT see his car…which was apparently out of gas in the vicinity of my house. And I certainly wasn’t going out there to look for it!!

      And I need a blind date, like I need a hole in my head. Here’s what I’ve discovered…it isn’t hard to get a date. Anybody can. It is hard to find a normal fella to have a relationship with. (All the ‘nice’ ones are alreaady married–and God knows I don’t want one of those!!)

      Lunch? Name the day.

Leave a Reply

