Who needs a Boy Scout knot???

Not me. At least not yesterday.

Because I am a sucker for older furniture, with interesting lines, I bring home more than I can use. I especially like to strip, stain, paint it. Change up the knobs, etc. And so, I have a lot of great, funky furniture. To the point where people now come into my home and make me offers on pieces they like.

To thin out my home and de-clutter, I often list furniture items in my eBay store. And when they sell, I use Greyhound Package Xpress to ship them.

Anyways…I sold a wicker rocking chair over the weekend. And needed to ship it via Greyhound to Birmingham, Alabama. It was purchased as a Christmas gift.

And a wonderful gift it will be!

This particular chair originally belonged to my mother-in-law, but was given to my daughter when her grandmother no longer had use for it. It is in excellent condition, having only ever been lightly used in bedrooms. Solid and Sturdy.

And BIG.

Far too big to stuff into the backseat of my Trusty Honda…though I opened the back door to the car and thought about trying. But only for a minute. (Or two.)

That’s how this wonderful vintage rocking chair wound up in the trunk of my car. Or at least MOSTLY in the trunk.

Because the Cleveland Greyhound Terminal is a  40  minute (one-way) trek on the freeway, I thought it a good idea to break out the twine. Not that I actually know what TO DO with twine. But it seemed wise to make the effort.

It is always in the back of my head that I really SHOULD be pulled over when I set out on these type of adventures. And I often pass police officers sitting on the road. In fact, I passed a few of them yesterday….

There I was…bumping along in my OLD Honda, nicknamed The Race Car last week, because it needs a new exhaust system. HUGE Rocking Chair Hanging from the trunk. Praying that I got downtown and back, without dropping part of the exhaust on the highway.

I’ve GOT to believe that when I roll by, they cops must think, “Really. I just can’t take that on. It isn’t WORTH dealing with.” And so they let me pass.

For short distances in and around my neighborhood, I don’t bother to secure the trunk.

Being that I am all about aesthetics, I got right in there and wrapped a ‘nice’ piece of twine around the rocking chair. And tied it to the trunk. In a BOW.

I was never good at knots. They always unravel. As I looked at my Perfect bow, I giggled. Then grabbed my camera to capture the moment. And I did make sure to trim off the ends of twine that were trailing on the ground, so they didn’t get stuck under a tire.

A BOW cannot be the proper method for securing a large chair, in this type of situation.

But I am unique.

And the chair is on its way to Birmingham to make somebody “Merry” this Christmas.

The Race Car?

Loud as ever. And still sitting in my driveway. Its exhaust parts (I think) still there.

Mission accomplished.

About Amy Lauria

Artist. Writer. Single Parent of two college students. Beach Walker. Dog owner who walks outdoors to maintain sanity. Into shiny objects, vacations, glitter, cupcakes, sports, and my beloved sticks, stones and beach glass.
This entry was posted in Daily Life of a Single Parent, eBay (Green Door) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

