It’s Memorial Day….

Today is ‘Parade Day’ in towns across America.

Darling Daughter was up early and decked out in red, white and blue. She is leading horses in the parade. Or at least I think that is what she said she was doing…

Not altogether sure. Just crossing my fingers the one of the horses doesn’t drop a ‘pile’ that she has to walk around. Darling Daughter is NOT good with ‘smells.’

As a child she spent an entire morning at the Farmpark using her fingers to plug her nose. Same when we took her to the Rainforest Café in Downtown Disney (Orlando) and even walking the streets of New York City.

Pray god she isn’t one of the ‘scoopers’ and they told her she was ‘leading’ to rope her into the job??

I digress…

We celebrate Memorial Day with parades.

But it isn’t about the parades and picnics. It is about remembering those who have fallen in service to our country. Remembering how lucky we are to have our freedom. And its price for some…

My mother impressed this upon me at a young age. Her brother served, though he returned home.

A hero is someone who has given his or her life to something bigger than oneself.  ~ Joseph Campbell

And so I will take a moment to thank all those men, women and families who have dedicated their lives so that my family and I have our freedom. And all of those who continue to enlist…

Getting a little bit personal: Jim, Tammy, Brett, Bailey, Kenny, Uncle Bob, Joe, Dave K, Tom S, Donald Hickok (my Grandfather). Thank you.

In the meantime, I am off to the parade. And I’ll be sure to take my camera.

Just in case Darling Daughter is actually walking BEHIND the horses with a scoop and shovel…

About Amy Lauria

Artist. Writer. Single Parent of two college students. Beach Walker. Dog owner who walks outdoors to maintain sanity. Into shiny objects, vacations, glitter, cupcakes, sports, and my beloved sticks, stones and beach glass.
This entry was posted in Daily Life of a Single Parent and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

